Special Interest Groups

The Raine Study is a valuable resource for Western Australian researchers. There are currently more than 150 researchers utilising the Raine Study. The investigators bring expertise from 15 Special Interest Groups (SIGs) which are aligned to life-course framework covering multidisciplinary and multiple time points.  The SIGs are based around key data sets within 5 overarching areas: genetics, phenotype, behaviours, environment as well as education and work.  There is a cohort methods focussed SIG to support the quality and efficiency of analyses.  The role of the SIGs is to develop and enhance utilization of data resources.  The SIGs have leaders and members likely drawn from a number of the financial partners to encourage cross-institutional collaboration.  The 15 SIGs are (click on the title of each SIG below to access the description of the group.

 

Each SIG delivered a short overview of their groups at the 10th Annual Scientific Meeting on 20 October 2017 (click here to view the presentations).

 

Genetics

Genetics SIG

Phenotype

Cardiometabolic SIG
Respiratory, Immunology & Inflammation SIG
Homornal & Reproduction SIG
Musculoskeletal SIG
Psychological SIG
Senses SIG
Bio SIG (description pending)
  • body composition including growth, size, adiposity, bone, muscle; 3D facial morphology; fitness including aerobic, muscular; nutrients incuding iron, vitamin D; infectious disease; dental health – Peter Eastwood (Peter.Eastwood@health.wa.gov.au);Leon Straker (l.straker@curtin.edu.au)

Lifestyle Behaviours

Physical Activity & Sleep SIG
Diet SIG
Risky Behavior SIG

Environment

Perinatal & Life course Environmental Exposures SIG
  • Perinatal

    (description pending) exposures such as obstetric factors; maternal nutrition, exercise , drugs (medications, smoking, alcohol, illicit), stress & mental health; classical environmental exposures including chemical (such as endocrine disruptors & other pollutants – Megan Galbally (m.galbally@murdoch.edu.au); jeff keelan (jeff.keelan@uwa.edu.au)

Education and Work

Education & Work SIG

Methods

Cohort Methods SIG

Angela Jacques (angela.jacques@uwa.edu.au); Max Bulsara (max.bulsara@uwa.edu.au); Anne Smith (anne.smith@curtin.edu.au)