Special Interest Groups

Special Interest Groups

 

The Raine Study is a valuable resource for Western Australian researchers. There are currently more than 150 researchers utilising the Raine Study. The investigators bring expertise from 15 Special Interest Groups (SIGs) which are aligned to life-course framework covering multidisciplinary and multiple time points.  The SIGs are based around key data sets within 5 overarching areas: genetics, phenotype, behaviours, environment as well as education and work.  There is a biostatistics methods focussed SIG to support the quality and efficiency of analyses.  The role of the SIGs is to develop and enhance utilization of data resources.  The SIGs have leaders and members likely drawn from a number of the financial partners to encourage cross-institutional collaboration.  The 15 SIGs are:

 

Special Interest Groups

Leaders

 

Genetics

 

 

Genetics SIG

  • exome, epigenetics

Phillip Melton (phillip.melton@uwa.edu.au)

Craig Pennell (craig.pennell@uwa.edu.au)

 

Phenotype


 

Cardiometabolic SIG

  • heart, vessels, liver, kidney; microbiome; gastrointestinal

 

Koya Ayonrinde (oyekoya.ayonrinde@uwa.edu.au)

Trevor Mori (trevor.mori@uwa.edu.au)

 

Respiratory, Immunology, Inflammation SIG  
  • asthma, lung structure, allergy
 

Elysia Hollams (elysia.hollams@uwa.edu.au)

Graham Hall (graham.hall@uwa.edu.au)

 

Hormonal and Reproduction SIG

  • HPA, thyroid, testosterone, testes, ovaries, breasts

Melanie Walls (melanie.walls@uwa.edu.au)

Roger Hart (roger.hart@uwa.edu.au)

Martha Hickey (hickeym@unimelb.edu.au)

 

Musculoskeletal SIG

  • pain, arthritis

Darren Beales (d.beales@curtin.edu.au)

Peter Kent (peter.kent@curtin.edu.au)

 

Psychological SIG

  • cognition, language, mood, mental health, disorders

Ashleigh Lin (ashleigh.lin@telethonkids.org.au)

 Andrew Whitehouse (andrew.whitehouse@telethonkids.org.au

Romola Bucks (romola.bucks@uwa.edu.au)

 

Senses SIG

  • eyes, ears

Christopher Brennan-Jones (christopher.brennan-jones@uwa.edu.au)

Rob Eikelboom (rob.eikelboom@uwa.edu.au)

David Mackey (david.mackey@uwa.edu.au)

 

Bio SIG

  • body composition including growth, size, adiposity, bone, muscle; 3D facial morphology; fitness including aerobic, muscular; nutrients incuding iron, vitamin D; infectious disease; dental health

 

Peter Eastwood (Peter.Eastwood@health.wa.gov.au)

Leon Straker (l.straker@curtin.edu.au)

 

Lifestyle Behaviours

                                                    

 

Sleep & Activity SIG

  • physical activity, sedentary behaviour

Joanne McVeigh (joanne.mcveigh@curtin.edu.au)

Nigel Mcardle (nigel.mcardle@health.wa.gov.au)

 

Diet SIG

  • diet, dietary behaviour

Therese O'Sullivan (t.osullivan@ecu.edu.au)_

Gina Ambrosini (gina.ambrosini@uwa.edu.au)

 

Risky Behaviour SIG

  • drug use - alcohol, tobacco, other drugs, sexual behaviour, driving

 

Robert Tait (21684533@student.uwa.edu.au)

Rachel Skinner (rachel.skinner@health.nsw.gov.au)

 

Environment

 

 

Perinatal & Life course Environmental

Exposures SIG

  • perinatal exposures such as obstetric factors; maternal nutrition, exercise , drugs (medications, smoking, alcohol, illicit), stress & mental health; classical environmental exposures including chemical (such as endocrine disruptors & other pollutants

                                                      

Megan Galbally (m.galbally@murdoch.edu.au)

Jeff Keelan (jeff.keelan@uwa.edu.au)

Built & Social Environment SIG

  • built environment including neighbourhood security, parks, walkability, shops, fast food outlets & social environment including family relationships, peer relationships, work colleague relationships

 

Gina Trapp (georgina.trapp@uwa.edu.au)

Hayley Christian (hayley.christian@uwa.edu.au)

 

Education and Work

 

 

Education & Work SIG

  • primary & secondary school achievement, post-secondary education, occupational, work perceptions, work productivity, economics

 

Michael Dockery (mike.dockery@cbs.curtin.edu.au)

Sharon Parker (sharon.parker@uwa.edu.au)

 

Methods

 

 

Biostatistics SIG

Angela Jacques (angela.jacques@uwa.edu.au)

Max Bulsara (max.bulsara@uwa.edu.au)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Prof Graham Hall and Prof Leon Straker

LEI July2010 047

 

Prof Nick de Klerk and Dr Koya Ayonrinde

Koya And Nick

 

Seyhan Yazar and Prof David Mackey

David Seyan

 

Dr Anne Smith and Dr David Lawrence

Anne David L